After the Goose…

Things returned to normal here briefly, with some post-goose yumminess… I have a whole jar of delicious goose fat in the fridge, just waiting to be used for roasting potatoes:

I know, it doesn’t look very appetizing, but believe me, it’s delicious.  In England they just spread it on toast! 

What I spread on toast instead, was a little goose liver pâté, possibly one of the yummiest things I’ve ever made. 

Recipe:

Sauté one small shallot, 2-3 min, in ½ to 1 tbs butter, medium heat.  Add goose liver (1 smallish one), brown on both sides 2-3 min.  Put livers and shallots in food processor, with 1-2 additional tbs butter.  Add a sprinkle of salt and a few sprigs of thyme.  Pour a splash of sherry in the pan and reduce 1 min.  Add to food processor.  Purée until smooth.  Serve immediately on toast or crackers or refrigerate until chilled.  Mmmmm.

My little ballerina enjoying the day after our Michaelmas celebration:

And then the excitement of family in town–Papa Greg and Nanny!

The ibises appreciated it too, I’m sure…  Stay tuned for some lovely pictures of the Morikami Gardens in Boca Raton, where we took my in-laws.  Little Bee is very sad that they are gone now.  The only thing consoling her is that Omo (my mom) is arriving in a few days for a visit!

This entry was posted in Baking and Cooking, Family, South Florida and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to After the Goose…

  1. Omo Bee says:

    Oh my little ballerina bee, how lovely you look in the splendour of the grass!
    Mama Bee, I sure hope the goosefat won’t be all gone before I get there……

Leave a comment